

OFFICE OF THE PRIME MINISTER (NATIONAL AIDS COORDINATING COMMITTEE)

Levels 20-21, Tower D, International Waterfront Centre, 1A Wrightson Road, Port of Spain Republic of Trinidad and Tobago TEL: 627-1163

19th July, 2018

For Immediate Release

PRESS RELEASE

INSTALLATION OF NEW NATIONAL AIDS COORDINATING COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Port of Spain: On Thursday 19th July, 2018, the Honourable Ayanna Webster-Roy, Minister of State in the Office of the Prime Minister distributed instruments of appointment to twenty three (23) members who will serve on the National AIDS Coordinating Committee (NACC). Newly installed members were selected from a diverse array of Governmental and Non- Governmental Organisations and will assist in the continued coordination effort to end AIDS by 2030.

The responsibilities of members of the NACC include:

- 1. Building and deepening multi-sectorial partnership (public, private, non-government) to achieve national commitment, support and ownership of the response of HIV and AIDS;
- 2. Coordinating, supporting and guiding the activities pursuant to the reduction of the population's susceptibly of HIV and AIDS;
- 3. Establishing national goals and targets of the priority strategic areas;
- 4. Monitoring and evaluating the implementation and attainment of national goals, objectives and targets with respect to HIV and AIDS as identified in the national strategic plan and
- 5. Championing and accelerating the legislative agenda required to support HIV and AIDS responses, programmes and plans.

The Honourable Ayanna Webster-Roy, thanked outgoing members for their dedication and commitment to serving people living with and affected by HIV and AIDS and their continued work in the response. She also urged stakeholders present to continue the synergy of institutional strengthing to ensure that every community in Trinidad and Tobago has the knowledge, understanding and wisdom to continue the fight against HIV/AIDS. The Committee now has wider representation from groups affected by the epidemic.

The Office of the Prime Minister looks forward to collaborating with all appointed members as we improve the national response to HIV/AIDS and work towards to #EndAIDSBy2030TT.

The following are the newly appointed members of the National AIDS Coordinating Committee:

#	Names
1	Mr. Wayne Jackman
2	Ms. Yolanda Y. Simon
3	Ms. Deborah Williams
4	Mr. Clifton Simpson
5	Mrs. Sati O. Gajadhar-Inniss
6	Mrs. Aurora Noguera-Ramkissoon
7	Ms. Aviana Alleyne
8	Ms. Chanda Marie La Touche
9	Mrs. Avion Quava Jones
10	Ms. Jacqueline A. Reid
11	Pundit Lutchmidath Persad Maharaj
12	Ms. Lois Solomon
13	Ms. Patricia Smith-Cummings
14	Ms. Izola Garcia
15	Ms. Nicole Hendrickson
16	Mr. Salorne Mc Donald
17	Mr. Luke Maurice Sinnette
18	Ms. Gwendoline Mc Laren
19	Dr. Soffiya Ali
20	Dr. Christine Laptiste
21	Mr. Timothy Grant
22	Dr. Keven Antoine
23	Dr. Roxanne Mitchell

For further information contact:
The Corporate Communications Unit
Tel: 627-1163 ext. 2040 – 2043 or e-mail naccsectt@gmail